Faultline: Seismic Science from the Epicenter
Live earthquake data Great quakes in San Francisco Earthquake basics Mitigating earthquake damage Earthquake education activities

Three types of faults
from the Faults page in Quake Basics

The three basic fault types: the normal fault, where one block of rock drops down relative to the other; the strike-slip fault, where the fault blocks slide horizontally past each other; and the reverse fault, where one fault block moves upward relative to the other.

Click here to download a printable version of this page. It requires the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Click here to download the free Acrobat Reader.

Click your "back" button to return to the previous page.

Fault tupes

Live EyeGreat ShakesQuake BasicsDamage ControlActive Zone

© Exploratorium