移至主內容

月球博物館 (Museum of the Moon)

Museum of the Moon
月球博物館 (Museum of the Moon)

當你仰望月亮時,會想到什麼? 月餅? 月球登陸器? 漲潮? 地球的保護者? 這顆發亮的衛星,為地球上的所有文化提供了科學啟發和藝術靈感。  我們的月亮就像一面文化之鏡,不僅反射太陽的光芒,也映照出全球各地人們的故事和信仰。  

月球博物館 的靈感,是來自 Jerram 英國布里斯托爾家鄉的巨大潮汐變化。 這件藝術品採用了來自美國太空總署120 dpi解像度的影像印製而成,以大約 1:700,000 的比例展示出每個懸崖和隕石坑;一公分代表月球表面約7公里(一英吋約相等於11英哩)。
 

Museum of the Moon

藝術家簡介

Luke Jerram 多才多藝,創作領域包括雕塑、裝置和現場藝術項目。 他是英國皇家天文學會會員,以結合藝術、科學和玩賞的大型公共藝術品(例如月球博物館)而聞名。

圖片:©探索博物館檔案館

IMLS 確認

此網路計畫部分由博物館和圖書館服務研究所[MA-30-16-0175-16] 實現。

Skip to main content

Museum of the Moon

Museum of the Moon
Museum of the Moon

What do you think of when you gaze up at the moon? Moon cakes? Lunar landers? High tides? Earth’s protector? Every culture has found scientific and artistic inspiration in Earth’s glowing satellite. Our moon acts as a cultural mirror, reflecting not just the Sun’s light, but the stories and beliefs of people around the world.

Museum of the Moon was inspired by the huge tidal range in Jerram’s home city of Bristol, England. The artwork is printed from 120 dpi NASA imagery that shows every cliff and crater at an approximate scale of 1:700,000; one centimeter represents about 7 kilometers (one inch equals about 11 miles) of the lunar surface.

See Glow Exhibits on View

Museum of the Moon

About the Artist

Luke Jerram’s multidisciplinary practice includes sculptures, installations, and live arts projects. A Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society, he is known for large-scale public artworks—such as Museum of the Moon—that combine art, science, and play.

Photo: © Exploratorium Archives

IMLS acknowledgment

           This web project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services  [MA-30-16-0175-16].