x

Video


Total Solar Eclipse App for iOS and Android

June 8, 2017 • 01:07

Explore Total Solar Eclipse: This free app for iPhone, iPad, and Android gives you access to our live video streams of the total solar eclipse occurring August 21, 2017. Tune in to five simultaneous video streams: 1) Live coverage hosted by Exploratorium educators and NASA scientists, 2) live coverage in Spanish hosted by Exploratorium educators, 3) a non-narrated, live telescope view of the eclipse as seen from Oregon, 4) a non-narrated, 3-hour telescope view of the eclipse as seen from Wyoming, and 5) a live telescope view with live musical sonification and accompaniment by the Kronos Quartet. To help you connect to other observers, we’ve created a live Twitter view, where you can follow the conversation and tweet as you watch the eclipse live on the app. Get the free app. #eclipse2017, #solareclipse, #totalsolareclipse  

Don’t have an Android or iOS device? Not to worry. You can watch the live eclipse video using any web browser app on your phone or tablet. 

The app displays viewing times for each live stream adjusted to your device’s time zone.  Live stream start times in PDT / EDT / UTC are:
 
Live Coverage of the Eclipse / Cobertura en vivo en español
PDT: August 21, 10:00 a.m.
EDT: August 21, 1:00 p.m.
UTC: August 21, 17:00
 
Telescope Sonification with Kronos Quartet
PDT: August 21, 10:30 a.m.
EDT: August 21, 1:30 p.m.
UTC: August 21, 17:30
 
Telescope View from Oregon
PDT: August 21, 9:00 a.m.
EDT: August 21, 12:00 p.m.
UTC: August 21, 16:00
 
Telescope View from Wyoming
PDT: August 21, 9:15 a.m.
EDT: August 21, 12:15 p.m.
UTC: August 21, 16:15