Exploratorium: Home

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Exploratorium Chairman of the Board George W. Cogan (right) and Executive Director Dennis Bartels stand inside Pier 15 on San Francisco’s Embarcadero before it became the Exploratorium's new home in 2013.


George W. Cogan, Chairman
Director, Bain & Company, Inc.

Shona L. Brown, Vice-Chair
Googler Emeritus

William S. Fisher, Vice-Chair
Managing Partner, Manzanita Capital

Vincent L. Ricci, Secretary
President, North Coast Advisors, Inc.

Lynn C. Fritz, Treasurer
Director General, Fritz Institute



Ravin Agrawal
Managing Director, Corellian Capital LLC

Dennis M. Bartels, PhD
Executive Director
Ex Officio

Gary Bengier
Retired Chief Financial Officer, eBay, Inc.

Jennifer Caldwell
President, Caldwell-Fisher Charitable Foundation

Barbara A. Carbone
Audit Partner, KPMG LLP

Chris Cox
Chief Product Officer, Facebook, Inc.

Tom DeFilipps
Managing Partner, Sidley Austin LLP

Anthony “Tony” F. Earley, Jr.
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President, PG&E Corporation

Greg Flynn
Chairman / CEO, Flynn Properties Inc. &
Flynn Restaurant Group LLC

Mickey Hart
CEO - 360º Productions, Inc.

F. Scott Hindes
Retired Vice President, Kiewit Pacific Co.

Reid Hoffman
Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, LinkedIn

Jeff Huber
Senior Vice President,
Commerce and Local at Google Inc.

Michael R. Jacobson
General Counsel, eBay Inc.

Richard Laiderman
Treasurer, Visa, Inc.

Jude P. Laspa
Chief Operating Officer,
Executive Vice President and
Director of Bechtel Group, Inc.

Divesh Makan
Partner, ICONIQ Capital

Phil Marineau
Operating Partner, LNK Partners

William “Bill” F. Mellin
Ret. Managing Member, Co-Head of Domestic Credit Investments, Farallon Capital Management

Kenneth G. Moore
Director of Evaluation & Technology at the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Sandra L. Otellini
Co-Founder and Vice President,
Parents Education Network

Cameron Phleger
Exploratorium Lab
Ex Officio

Craig Silverstein
Dean of Infrastructure, Khan Academy

Nat Simons
CEO, Elan Management, and Co-Director,
Sea Change Foundation

E. Payson Smith, Jr.
Partner, FLG Partners, LLC

Aaron Vermut
CEO, Prosper Marketplace, Inc.

R. Sanders Williams, MD
President, The J. David Gladstone Institutes

Stan Wojcicki, PhD
Professor of Physics, Emeritus, Stanford University

Michelle Yee
Civic Volunteer

Dan Yue
Senior Vice President, Product, Disney



William K. Bowes Jr.
Founding Partner, U.S. Venture Partners

F. Van Kasper
Retired President Private Brokerage, Wells Fargo



Ann S. Bowers
Trustee, The Noyce Foundation

In Memorium: William K. Coblentz
Senior Partner, Coblentz, Patch, Duffy
& Bass, LLP

Paul M. Cook
Founding Chief Executive Officer,
Raychem Corporation

C. Richard Kramlich
General Partner, New Enterprise Associates

Peter C. Wendell
General Partner, Sierra Ventures