移至主內容

經常問的問題

FAQ
經常問的問題

計劃您的訪問

 

可訪問性怎麼樣?

Exploratorium完全適合輪椅進出。我們還可以將輪椅借給需要輪椅的遊客。我們為盲人和視障遊客提供觸覺地圖。您可以在售票處旁邊的問訊處取一張。有關更多信息,請訪問輔助功能。


我應該穿什麼?

你會想穿舒適的衣服。我們建議您分層穿著,這樣您就可以為舊金山的任何天氣做好準備——陽光、霧氣或寒冷的海風。舒適的鞋子是必須的。 Exploratorium校園佔地 3.3 英畝,因此需要多走走。不過,如果您的鞋子確實變得不友好,請不要擔心;我們的急救站有繃帶。


我可以用我的包/外套/東西做什麼?

投幣式儲物櫃剛好經過檢票站(小)和問訊處(大)外面。小型儲物櫃尺寸為 10"wx 14"hx 14"d;大型儲物櫃尺寸為 23.5"wx 29"hx 23"d。


食物呢?

館內設有兩個博物館用餐區——面向室外廣場的Seismic Joint 休閒咖啡廳和海灣天文台的Seaglass Restaurant 。兩者均提供由舊金山著名廚師 Loretta Keller 主持烹製的時令和可持續美食。

小時

Seaglass 餐廳

星期日: 上午11:00—下午4:00
星期一 (封閉)
星期二—星期五: 上午11:00—下午3:00
星期四: 下午6:00—下午9:30
星期六: 上午11:00—下午4:00

地震聯合咖啡廳

星期日: 上午10:00—下午5:00
星期一 (封閉)
星期二: 上午10:00—下午3:00
星期三—星期五: 上午9:00—下午3:00
星期六: 上午10:00—下午5:00

Exploratorium只是一個兒童博物館嗎?

不,我們的展品適合所有年齡段的遊客。一些展品和節目最受成年人歡迎,而另一些則非常受兒童和學步兒童的歡迎。每個星期四晚上After Dark (18 歲以上)提供深思熟慮和創新的科學、藝術和感知體驗。


這裡有適合幼兒的東西嗎?

我們的許多涉及顏色、氣泡、光線和陰影的展品都非常受幼兒和年幼兒童的歡迎。請注意,嬰兒車以先到先得的方式提供。這裡有一些關於與孩子一起參觀Exploratorium 提示和有用的建議


在博物館裡可以拍照和錄像嗎?

允許在正常公共時間內進行供個人使用的非正式攝影和視頻,包括訂婚和婚禮拍攝,只要不打擾其他訪客的體驗並且照片用於非商業用途。未經本人(或其監護人)明確書面同意,不得以任何理由對陌生人拍照。

任何打算在電視、電影或廣播中發布的照片、電影或錄音必須得到市場部的批准。此外,任何在正常公共時間以外拍攝的照片,或任何阻礙進入展品、需要額外照明或導致任何其他潛在破壞性活動的攝影,都必須通過博物館租賃部門進行安排。


我在博物館的什麼地方可以找到額外的幫助?

詢問工作人員或任何樓層服務人員(我們都佩戴徽章),或訪問問訊處(剛過票掃描站)。


這是有天文館/水族館的地方嗎?

Exploratorium沒有天文館或水族館。您可能會將我們與舊金山另一個偉大的博物館加州科學院混淆。我們鼓勵您同時訪問兩者。


我在附近還能做什麼?

Ferry Building提供豐富的購物和餐飲選擇以及每週幾天的農貿市場。 (您也可以搭乘渡輪前往灣區的許多地點。)您還可以漫步到附近的 1½、3 和 5 號碼頭的 Port Walk 。惡魔島之旅39 號碼頭距離酒店僅幾步之遙,沿著內河碼頭。距離歷史悠久的北海灘不到 1 英里,這裡有高級餐廳、迷人的華盛頓廣場公園和著名的城市之光書店,該書店由詩人勞倫斯·費林蓋蒂 (Lawrence Ferlinghetti) 創立。亞洲以外歷史最悠久、規模最大的華人社區唐人街也在附近;您會發現標誌性的龍門、一流的點心餐廳和色彩繽紛的集市,從珍貴的寶石到紙傘應有盡有。

請與各個景點聯繫以確認時間和可用性。


我還有問題。我可以聯繫誰?

致電我們的預訂辦公室 415.528.4444 並選擇選項 5。週一至週五上午 9:00 至下午 5:00 有專人接聽您的電話,週四的延長時間為上午 9:00 至晚上 8:00。

到達這裡

 

Exploratorium 位於何處?

我們在15 號碼頭,它位於舊金山格林街的 Embarcadero。


我如何前往探索館?

有關Google 地圖、方向和公共交通選擇的信息,請參閱“前往此處” 。您也可以撥打我們的客戶服務部電話 415.528.4444 以獲得更多幫助。


我可以在哪裡停車?

我們的 15 號碼頭校區附近有許多停車場和停車場。該博物館與 SP+ 合作,在 Exploratorium Pier 15 Parking Lot 使用代碼 4302100 提供折扣。有關更多停車信息,請參閱到達此處。此外,Embarcadero 和附近的街道上也設有收費停車場。但請注意,從灣區的大部分地區乘坐公共交通工具均可輕鬆抵達探索館,我們為遊客提供自行車架。

請注意:
地段不屬於探索博物館所有或經營。所有停車位均視供應情況而定。請直接向停車場查詢營業時間和費率。與其他城市地區一樣,取出車上的所有貴重物品(包括後備箱)非常重要。不要將手機、太陽鏡、行李、購物袋、護照或其他物品留在車內,從而引誘小偷。探索博物館在票務掃描站(小)和問訊處(大)外面設有投幣式儲物櫃。小型儲物櫃尺寸為 10 英寸寬 x 14 英寸高 x 14 英寸深;大型儲物櫃尺寸為 23.5 英寸寬 x 29 英寸高 x 23 英寸深。


在我停車之前是否有載客區讓人們下車?

在博物館南邊的 Embarcadero 上有一個白色路緣裝載區,您可以在那裡上下車或接人。

小時

 

你們幾點開門?

位於15號碼頭的Exploratorium 探索博物馆

星期日 (日間會員/捐款者僅上午10時到中午): 下午12:00—下午5:00
星期一: 關閉
星期二—星期六: 上午10:00—下午5:00
星期四 (18 歲以上): 下午6:00—下午10:00

我必須在特定時間離開博物館嗎?

沒有。無論您什麼時候進入,都歡迎您一直呆到關門。

門票

 

我如何獲得門票?

門票可在博物館或網上購買。入場視供應情況和容量而定。門票僅在您選擇的日期有效,並且不可轉讓。


門票多少錢?
成人(18-64 歲)39.95 美元
青年 (4–17)29.95 美元
老年人(65 歲以上)、 殘疾人、教師、學生29.95 美元
兒童(3 歲及以下)自由的
會員(加入我們!)自由的
所有人的博物館、 Discover & Go 圖書館計劃、社區家庭通行證計劃、 ASTC Passport Program成員自由的
加州公立學校教師可申請免費入學自由的*

你們是否提供任何免費或打折的博物館入場券或優惠券?


是的。對於 EBT、SF Medi-Cal 或 SF CalFresh 持卡人,我們為最多 4 人提供 3 美元的門票。我們為預先申請的加州公立學校教師提供免費入場服務,並透過公共圖書館管理的 Discover & Go 和 Check Out SF Family Pass 計畫為灣區九個縣的居民提供折扣。在您訪問當天訪問我們的現場票務台。

所有參觀者都可以在我們一年一度的社區日隨心所欲地付費,屆時博物館入場將按照先到先得的原則進行。

我們參與了兩個捆綁的景點通票計劃,可提供大量優惠:使用San Francisco CityPASS®在 4 個 SF 頂級景點享受 46% 的折扣或嘗試Go San Francisco Pass 。您也可以在參觀當天在現場的售票處購買這些捆綁的通行證。

AAA NorCal 和 SoCal 的會員可以購買折扣門票。在您訪問當天訪問我們的現場票務台。

如需更多信息,請發送電子郵件至visit@exploratorium.edu或致電 415.528.4444。


如果我不知道確切的訪問日期怎麼辦?

考慮致電 415.528.4390 購買禮品卡。您可以將該卡用於博物館入場、會員資格和現場購買。 了解更多。


孩子需要門票嗎?

3 歲及以下兒童可免費入場,無需購票。請務必在門口告知我們的工作人員您的派對中有多少 3 歲或以下的兒童。 4 歲及以上的兒童被視為青少年,需要購票。


我可以使用舊金山CityPASS®套票入場嗎?

可以, Exploratorium探索博物館很榮幸能成爲CityPASS®的景點之一。 參觀四個灣區景點,可享有五五折折扣。 首先,請在網上購買CityPASS®套票,套票將會立即送到您的手機上。 然後,在售票處出示您的CityPASS®套票,即可領取Exploratorium探索博物館門票。 了解詳情並購買CityPASS®。


我如何成為會員?

您可以在線成為會員或致電 415.528.4321 聯繫我們。

您也可以憑普通門票參觀 Exploratorium,並在參觀當天的任何時間將您的門票費用用於會員資格。

感謝您的支持!


我是會員。我需要知道什麼?

Daytime會員、 After Dark會員和捐贈者只需出示他們的數字會員卡和 ID 即可入場。要了解更多信息,請訪問我們的會員部分,致電 415.528.4321,或發送電子郵件至membership@exploratorium.edu。


如果我是ASTC Passport Program參與機構的成員,我該如何訪問?

Exploratorium 為ASTC Passport Program互惠機構的成員提供免費入場服務,無論您在本國機構的會員級別如何,該優惠都涵蓋 2 個人。

要獲得您的門票,請在您訪問當天攜帶您所在機構的會員卡和帶照片的身份證件或其他居住證明到我們的現場售票處。一名來訪的成人必須在用於入場的會員卡上註明姓名。所在機構和成員的家庭住址必須距離 Exploratorium 至少 90 英里。


如何購買禮品卡?

您可以致電 415.528.4390 購買一張或多張禮品卡。 了解更多。


碼頭有什麼東西可以不花錢看嗎?

是的!從 Embarcadero 可以到達一個未售票的戶外空間,那裡有很棒的展品, Seaglass 餐廳可以欣賞到美麗的海灣景色,我們的商店Seismic Joint 休閒咖啡廳也是如此。

COVID-19 安全

建議戴口罩和接種疫苗,但不是必需的。


Exploratorium工作人員是否接種了疫苗?

雖然 Exploratorium 探索博物館建議所有員工接種 COVID-19 疫苗並注射最新的加強針,但這並非僱用要求或條件。


博物館會有多擁擠?

工作日的出勤率通常低於週末、節假日和學校假期。


空氣是新鮮的還是再循環的?

所有畫廊和辦公空間都使用 100% 的室外空氣,不進行再循環。自從我們搬到 15 號碼頭以來,我們就一直這樣做。我們還定期更換 HVAC MERV 14過濾器,以確保空氣清新。

Skip to main content

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ
Frequently Asked Questions

Planning Your Visit

 

What about accessibility?

The Exploratorium is fully wheelchair accessible. We can also lend wheelchairs to visitors who need them. We have tactile maps for blind and visually impaired visitors. You can pick one up at the Information Desk, located just past the ticket scanning station. For more information, visit Accessibility.


What should I wear?

You'll want to wear comfortable clothes. We recommend layers, so that you're ready for whatever San Francisco weather comes your way—sun, fog, or a chilly ocean breeze. Comfortable shoes are a must. The Exploratorium campus covers 3.3 acres, so expect to do plenty of walking. Don't worry if your shoes do turn unfriendly, though; we have bandages at our First Aid station.


What can I do with my bag/coat/stuff?

There are coin-operated lockers just past the ticket scanning station (small) and outside the Information Desk (large). Small lockers are 10"w x 14"h x 14"d; large lockers are 23.5"w x 29"h x 23"d.


What about food?

There are two museum dining areas—the Seismic Joint Café, which faces the outdoor plaza, and Seaglass Restaurant in the Bay Observatory. Both feature seasonable and sustainable cuisine prepared under the auspices of acclaimed San Francisco chef Loretta Keller.

Hours

Seaglass Restaurant

Sunday: 11:00 am—3:00 pm
Monday: Closed
Tuesday—Saturday: 11:00 am—3:00 pm
Thursday: 6:00 pm—9:30 pm

Seismic Joint Café

Sunday: 10:00 am—5:00 pm
Monday: Closed
Tuesday—Friday: 10:00 am—3:00 pm
Saturday: 10:00 am—5:00 pm

Is the Exploratorium just a kids’ museum?

No, our exhibits can be enjoyed by visitors of all ages. Some exhibits and programs are best appreciated by adults while others are very popular with kids and toddlers. And every Thursday night After Dark (ages 18+) offers thoughtful and innovative science, arts, and perceptual experiences.


Is there anything here for toddlers?

Many of our exhibits involving color, bubbles, light, and shadow are big hits with toddlers and younger children. Note that strollers are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Here are some tips and helpful bits of advice on visiting the Exploratorium with kids.


Is it okay to shoot photos and video in the museum?

Informal photography and video for personal use, including engagement and wedding shoots, are allowed during regular public hours as long as other visitors' experiences are not disrupted and the photos are for noncommercial use. Photography of strangers is not allowed for any reason without the person’s (or their guardian's) express, written consent.

Any photography, filming, or recording intended for publication in television or film or on radio must be approved by the Marketing Department. In addition, any photo shoots outside of regular public hours or any photography that blocks access to exhibits, requires extra lighting, or results in any other potentially disruptive activity must be arranged through the Museum Rentals Department.


Where can I find additional help on site at the museum?

Ask a staff member or any Floor Facilitator (we all wear badges), or visit the Information Desk (just past the ticket scanning stations).


Is this the place with the planetarium/aquarium?

The Exploratorium does not have a planetarium or an aquarium. You might be confusing us with the California Academy of Science, another great San Francisco museum. We encourage you to visit both.


What else can I do nearby?

The Ferry Building features a wealth of shopping and dining choices as well as a farmers’ market several days a week. (You can also catch a ferry to many points in the Bay Area.) You might also enjoy a stroll down to nearby Port Walk at Piers 1½, 3, and 5. Alcatraz tours and Pier 39 aare located just a short stroll north, along the Embarcadero. Less than a mile away is historic North Beach, home to fine restaurants, the lovely Washington Square Park, and the famous City Lights bookstore, founded by poet Lawrence Ferlinghetti. Chinatown, the oldest and largest Chinese community outside of Asia, is also nearby; you'll find the iconic Dragon Gate, excellent dim sum restaurants, and colorful bazaars featuring everything from precious gems to paper umbrellas.

Check with individual attractions to confirm hours and availability.


I still have questions. Who can I contact?

Call our Reservations Office at 415.528.4444 and choose option 5. Someone is available to answer your call from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, with extended hours from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Thursdays.

Getting Here

 

Where is the Exploratorium located?

We’re at Pier 15, which is on the Embarcadero at Green Street in San Francisco.


How do I get to the Exploratorium?

See Getting Here for a Google map, directions, and public transportation options. You can also call our Guest Services department at 415.528.4444 for additional help getting here.


Where can I park?

There are numerous parking garages and lots near our Pier 15 campus. The museum partners with SP+ to offer a discount using the code 4302100 at the Exploratorium Pier 15 Parking Lot. For more parking information, see Getting Here. In addition, there is also metered parking on the Embarcadero and nearby streets. Please note, though, that the Exploratorium is easily accessible by public transportation from most of the Bay Area and we provide bike racks for visitors.

Please Note: 
Lots are not owned or operated by the Exploratorium. All parking is subject to availability. Please check hours of operation and rates directly with the lots. As in other urban areas, it is very important to remove all valuables from your vehicle, including the trunk. Don’t tempt a thief by leaving cell phones, sunglasses, luggage, shopping bags, passports or other items in your car. The Exploratorium offers coin-operated lockers just past the ticket scanning station (small) and outside the Information Desk (large). Small lockers are 10"w x 14"h x 14"d; large lockers are 23.5"w x 29"h x 23"d.


Is there a loading zone to drop people off before I park?

There is a white-curbed loading zone on the Embarcadero, just south of the museum, where you can drop people off or pick them up.

Hours

 

What hours are you open? 

Exploratorium at Pier 15

Sunday (Daytime Members/Donors Only 10:00 am to Noon): 12:00 pm—5:00 pm
Monday: Closed
Tuesday—Saturday: 10:00 am—5:00 pm
Thursday (Ages 18+): 6:00 pm—10:00 pm

Do I have to leave the museum at a specific time?

No. You're welcome to stay until closing no matter what time you enter.

Tickets

 

How do I get tickets?

Tickets are available at the museum or online. Entry is subject to availability and capacity. Tickets are valid only for the date you select, and they are nontransferable.


How much do tickets cost?
Adults (18–64)$39.95
Youth (4–17)$29.95
Seniors (65+), People with Disabilities, Teachers, Students$29.95
Children (3 & under)FREE
Members (Join us!)FREE
Discover & Go Library Program, Community Family Pass Program, ASTC Passport Program MembersFREE
California Public School Teachers can apply for free admissionFREE*

Do you offer any free or discounted passes or coupons on museum admission?

Yes. For EBT, SF Medi-Cal, or SF CalFresh cardholders, we offer $3 admission for up to 4 people. We offer free admission to California public school teachers who have preapplied, as well as discounts for residents of the nine Bay Area counties through the Discover & Go and Check Out SF Family Pass programs administered through public libraries. Visit our Ticketing Desk on site on the day of your visit.

All visitors can pay-what-you-wish on our annual Community Day, when museum entry is on a first-come, first-served basis.

While we currently do not offer coupons for admission, we do participate in two bundled attraction pass programs offering substantial savings—San Francisco CityPASS® and the Go San Francisco Pass. Visit our Ticketing Desk on site on the day of your visit.

Members of AAA NorCal and SoCal may purchase discounted admission tickets. Visit our Ticketing Desk on site on the day of your visit.

For more information, email us at visit@exploratorium.edu or call 415.528.4444.


What if I don't know the exact date I'm visiting?

Consider purchasing a gift card by calling 415.528.4390. You can apply the card to museum admission, memberships, and on-site purchases. Learn more.


Do children need tickets?

Children ages 3 and under are admitted free and don't need a ticket. Please be sure to tell our staff at the door how many children ages 3 or under you have in your party. Children ages 4 and older are considered Youth and need a ticket.


Can I visit using San Francisco CityPASS® tickets?

Yes, the Exploratorium is proud to be a CityPASS® attraction. Save 45% on admission to four Bay Area attractions. First, buy CityPASS® tickets online for instant mobile ticket delivery. Then, present your CityPASS® ticket at the ticketing desk to receive your Exploratorium admission ticket.  Learn more and buy CityPASS®.


How do I become a member?

You can become a member online or call us at 415.528.4321.

You can also visit the Exploratorium with general admission tickets and apply your ticket costs toward a membership at any time on the day of your visit.

Thank you for your support!


I'm a member. What do I need to know?

Daytime members, After Dark members, and donors simply need to present their digital membership card and ID for entry. To learn more, go to our Membership section, call 415.528.4321, or email membership@exploratorium.edu.


How do I visit if I'm a member of an ASTC Passport Program participating institution?

The Exploratorium offers free admission for members of ASTC Passport Program institutions. The benefit covers 2 people regardless of your membership level at your home institution.

To obtain tickets, bring your institution’s membership card and a photo ID or other proof of residence to our on-site Ticketing Desk on the day of your visit. One visiting adult must be named on the membership card used for entry. Home institutions and the member’s home address must be at least 90 miles away from the Exploratorium.


How do I buy a gift card?

You can buy one or more gift cards by calling 415.528.4390. Learn more.


Is there anything to see at the Piers without paying?

Yes! There’s an unticketed outdoor space with great exhibits, Seaglass Restaurant with a gorgeous Bay view, and our Store and Seismic Joint Café are accessible from the Embarcadero.

Exploratorium COVID-19 Safety

Masks and vaccinations are recommended, but not required.


Are Exploratorium staff vaccinated?

Yes, Exploratorium staff are required to be vaccinated. 


How crowded will the museum be?

Weekdays generally have lower attendance than weekends, holidays, and school breaks.


Will the air be fresh or recirculated?

All galleries and office spaces use 100% outside air with no recirculation. We’ve done this ever since we moved to Pier 15. We also change our HVAC MERV 14 filters at appropriate intervals to ensure clean air.